Board of Governors

Board of Governors

Hamilton College is an Educational Charity owned by Christian Schools (Scotland) Limited.

Our Board of Governors add an extra dimension to the expertise available in the running of Hamilton College.  Governors contribute additional skills to our educational setting, offering support and advice to the Principal and also shape the future strategy of the school. The Governors of Hamilton College are responsible for the entire operation, in terms of strategy, policy, performance, educational provision, facilities and have a “duty of care” to pupils, parents and staff within the scope of the school policies.

Some governors are from professional backgrounds with legal, accountancy or surveying skills, or have experience in education such as teachers or retired heads while others are parents of children who want to play a greater role in shaping the way the school is run.  All of our Governors are committed Christians.

Members of our Board of Governors are: 

Ms W Hay, Chairman

Mrs M Cunningham
(Former Head of Hamilton College Junior School)

Rev A Gibson
(Church of Scotland Minister, former Head Boy with sons in the Junior and Senior School.)

Mr K Howat
(IT professional. He has a son in the Senior School and two daughters who are former pupils.)

Mr A D Lochhead 
(Retired following a career in Marketing and Business Management in the steel and oil industries and latterly in the Civil Service.)

Mrs W McDaniel 
(Senior Commercial Manager with a strong background in Sales and Marketing)

Mr R Patterson 
(Partner with leading Glasgow accountancy firm and parent of pupils at the College.)

Mr A Porte
(Retired Police Scotland Superintendent.  Married to a local GP and has two children.)

Mr C Richards
(Project Management Consultant)

Mrs C Shaw 
(Principal Teacher in South Lanarkshire)